The HuntingPA.com Outdoor Community banner

1 - 20 of 24 Posts

·
Registered
14 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hi guys. I am new to hunting in Pennsylvania, and am trying to navigate the laws and regulations for doe tags. I've never heard of a place that ONLY accepts physical mail applications for doe tags (that's a little archaic and ridiculous, but it is what it is lol), and everything I can find says to send a check with the application. I do not have a checking account. I stopped using them years ago, and never looked back.

However, now that I live in PA, and want a doe tag along with my general hunting license, I'm at a loss as to what to do. Am I just stuck only hunting bucks? Do I have to have a friend write a check for me? Is that last one even possible? As in, will they take a check from someone else to pay for my doe tag?

I'm still learning the PA game commission regulations.

As a side note, what are the rules for field dressing in PA? Specifically, are we required to take the entrails out with us, or is burying them in the woods allowed here?

·
Registered
14 Posts
Discussion Starter #7
Far as entrails, no need or requirement to bury them, the critters will clean them up in no time.
Oh, I know that environmentally, it's fine. Biodegradable. I'll never throw man-made trash on the ground, but I never think twice about leaving an apple core or banana peel or fish guts or whatever else organic leftovers I may have. I usually bury larger entrails under a few inches of dirt and debris though, just so it doesn't look unsightly to a hiker. I know animals will dig it up, but at that point they will usually drag most of them away anyhow.

But I know some states have regulations against leaving entrails in the woods. Better safe than sorry.

·
Registered
1,900 Posts