The HuntingPA.com Outdoor Community banner

1 - 20 of 20 Posts

·
Registered
9,145 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I'm dreaming of spring and backpacking trips, something I'm just getting into. One of the items I'd like to pick up is a packable camp stove. I've seen the MSR variety and JetBoil in use. I'm leaning towards a JetBoil (either Flash or SOL model), my friend is adamant that I should get a MSR (pocket rocket specifically). I see the utility in both, and being that the MSR is so cheap, may well get it as well.

What do you guys have? Pros? Cons?

·
Registered
982 Posts
I have a pocket rocket and really like it. I've done some hiking and overnights the past 3 years and have used it on each hike. I'm getting ready for an AT thru hike in about 3 years when I retire. The other guys I hike with also use the pocket rocket. I bought mine at EMS. We just hiked the weekend after Christmas and with temps in the teens one morning it worked very well. Right now I don't have any cons.

·
Registered
177 Posts
About 10 years ago or more I picked up an MSR Whisperlight International. It wasn't cheap for me then. But 10 years and hours upon hours of use later & I haven't even used the re-build kit I bought when I got the stove. occasionally the jet will get clogged with soot, but a few knocks on a rock and the shaker jet clears right up.

I've packed this stove while back packing many times. I used it to cook several times/week one summer while I was doing a college internship & the kitchen was less than ideal to cook in. More recently it's gone along on dozens of over night padding trips where I was more often car camping than over night padding.