The HuntingPA.com Outdoor Community banner
1 - 14 of 14 Posts

·
Registered
9,145 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Just registered for a CR class next month and while the trapping forum is hot, I figured it was a good time to ask questions.

I read the regs regarding CRs, I'm wondering who all is using greater than 3/32" cable? I'll be setting for coyotes as much or more than foxes next year so my goal is to hold them. I'm assuming 1/8" cable is probably popular amongst the guys targeting yotes? I plan on getting some cheap disposable stakes for anchoring instead of the chain stakes I'm using now.

Are you using just a bent piece of 9 gauge wire to support the CR?

I'd love to see some set ups, particularly closeups of the rig itself, but where they are set in the field would be helpful too.

I'm completely new to CR's. Definitely not abandoning traps though, just adding another tool to my bag of tricks.

Thanks!

·
Registered
400 Posts
may be dumb question but is there any around the williamsport area
how did you find that?

·
Super Moderator
12,829 Posts
Dont think ive ever seen a snare heavier than 3/32"...

Ive held 2 yotes in 1x19...well...1 was held long enough to be stolen...i still count it as i know it was a yote and know.it was shot by a deer hunter and stolen...

Ive gone away from #9 wire...i use a stick and run #11 wire off the stick pounded into the ground...

I buy mine from snareone...unless you plan on using a bunch of them it is IMO best to leave it up to a master snare builder....the secret is how the cable is loaded....you can save money building your own...but i rather pay for quality...

They are simple and effective....hardest part for me is discovering trails that are worth cabling...but i dont have many critters here so that makes it tough for me..

(There is a cable in the 2nd pic...i took that pic for someone asking how formula 1 works...highly recommend dipping your cables in it!)

·
Super Moderator
12,829 Posts