The HuntingPA.com Outdoor Community banner

1 - 20 of 99 Posts

·
Registered
130 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I just thought some of you would be interested in my new project. I am building a 14'x 74" Aluminum hull. This will be what we call a Mini Airboat, They have a smaller motor than the larger boats, not as loud and use less gas, only about a gallon per hour.

I will be using a MillerMatic 211 Mig welder with a Spoolmate 100 spool gun.

The hull bottom will be .125(1/8") and the sides will be .090 as well as the transom and front deck.

The boat will be powered with a 50 HP air cooled Army Surplus engine. This is pretty much a copy of my current boat that I have been using since 2008 with very little problems. I log many hours on the river so reliability is very important.

So far I just have some jigs made to form the stringers and have them bent and welded. I ordered my sheet goods and they will be in on Monday so the real work will start then.
I've built many of these boats through the years but this will be my first one from scratch. I am building this boat for my uncle.

Looks like I'll have to dig up my photobucket account and upload some photos to use here. I'll put them up asap and I'll add to this as I get things done.

·
Registered
819 Posts
Please post pictures of the build. I enjoy other people build stuff I could never dream of building. Good luck with the build.

·
Registered
130 Posts
Discussion Starter #4
I will update as I have time to get here. I got my sheet materials in today. Unfortunately I am in the middle of building a walk-in closet for the wife and she watches my time pretty close. I have a few more days on the closet but I still sneak out to the garage and do as much as possible while the drywall mud is drying.

·
Registered
21,983 Posts
Cool project....I do have a question.
How does one go about getting capacity plates and such for a home built powered craft? How do they determine the HP rating?