The HuntingPA.com Outdoor Community banner

1 - 20 of 20 Posts

·
Registered
953 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I’m possibly going to be in the market for an in-line this fall. Due to the new opportunities to hunt bear I figured what the heck. I could tote one of flintlocks but I haven’t bought a fire arm in awhile. I know very little about them but I I do see a pretty big price gap in some of the models. I’m not looking for anything fancy and would most likely put a 3x9 scope on it. I thoroughly enjoy bear hunting with my group of friends during the rifle season but I figured it can’t hurt to have one just in case. Any feedback would be appreciated.

·
Registered
514 Posts
I'm far from a pro but was in your place last year and settlef on a CVA based on reviews and what people had to say on this site. The Optima seems like a good starter, but I went with the Accura Mountain Rifle and love it. It's a little more middle of the road but very reasonable, so easy to clean/operator, and has a shorter 25" barrel. I had a lot of fun sneaking around with it this year and it's a great shooter.

·
Registered
2,754 Posts
You could buy a good one that is used, and get a better gun, than buying a less quality budget gun. Seen some good used inlines on this site.

·
Registered
2,642 Posts
I agree with looking at used guns. A few years ago I bought a stainless TC Black Diamond from a guy in Texas that said he had got it to hunt hogs with. It came still in the factory packaging along with everything I needed to shoot it except powder for $175.

·
Banned
24,445 Posts
Personally, I would NEVER buy a used muzzleloader without thoroughly examining the barrel for abuse or bulging. A subtle bulge is almost impossible to detect without running a tight patch down barrel. A muzzleloader is more prone to barrel bulge as compared to a cartridge rifle.

·
Registered
2,036 Posts
I have a brand new TC Bone collector still in the box that I would trade for a 223 cal rifle

·
Registered
1,123 Posts