The HuntingPA.com Outdoor Community banner

1 - 18 of 18 Posts

·
Registered
12,211 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I am about to start the process for browning the barrel on a Traditions ML. I have never done this before and my question is going to strike some folks as dumb, but I need some guidance. I know it is very important to keep the browning solution out of the barrel so what is the best way to block the flash hole (I do not have the liner in yet) and the bore at the business end? If I use a rag or paper towel the browning solution will soak into them and get into the bore.

·
Registered
501 Posts
I used wood dowel rod trimmed to fit inside the barrel and touch hole. Just snug enough not to fall out if you bump it, not tight enough to get stuck in and cause a problem removing it.

·
Registered
1,500 Posts
For the muzzle I use a dowel rod trimmed to fit. For the touch hole (that is threaded) I also use a piece of dowel rod that is a couple inches long. The piece I use will "screw" into the touch hole. The threads from the touch hole just thread the rod. Don't know if it's needed, but I put a thin coat of Vaseline on the ends that I insert. Kind of insurance for a good seal and ease of removal.

·
Registered
304 Posts
One more thing, Jimsdad.
Don't dismiss the section in the directions where it says to card off the surface after every application. It will pay dividends in the final appearance.

·
Registered
12,211 Posts
Discussion Starter #6
One more thing, Jimsdad.
Don't dismiss the section in the directions where it says to card off the surface after every application. It will pay dividends in the final appearance.
Interesting data point there Windsniffer.
I just read the instructions on the bottle again and there is no mention of "card off" anywhere. What the heck is it and how do I find out where to do it?

I am planning on using Birchwood Casey Plumb Brown.

·
Registered
304 Posts