The HuntingPA.com Outdoor Community banner
1 - 17 of 17 Posts

·
Registered
713 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Being a new reloader, I have learned a lot from reading posts here. The bullet debate has been one of the most interesting and informative ones I have read since I started reloading. The next component I need to start stocking up on is brass and I was wondering what brands you guys like or dislike. I am more concerned with the higher quality stuff than the cheap stuff as I've been using my once fired factory brass I saved since I started shooting as a kid. The cartridges I will be shopping for are 22-250, 300wsm, 280, and 7mm-08.

·
Registered
941 Posts
I been using winchester & remington brass for many years without issues. I read some bad reviews on these 2 factory brass cartridges, only thing i can think of there not doing something right?

I will not pay twice as much for higher end brass when i am just fine with the Winchester and Remington brass. I reload 223, 243, 6mm, 284, 308. I don't reload max loads. I stay a grain or 2 below the max.

·
Super Moderator
8,069 Posts
I use Nosler when I can get a deal on it.

Otherwise I use Winchester or Hornady.

The biggest difference with the higher cost brass is consistency. By this, I mean the capacity and actual weight of the case are much more consistent.

I've weighed Nosler brass vs Hornady and Winchester and the Nosler is significantly more consistent both in the weight of the empty case and in the water case capacity. Much more consistent.

Winchester is ok. It needs work to be useful. Usually have some really badly dinged cases in a given bag of WW brass, and they all have to be sized and the necks cleaned up. Hornady is similar.

The only bad issue I had with Winchester was with 300wsm brass and splitting necks.... Some on the first firing and many on the second. I have 100pcs of WW for my 270 and it's working pretty well.