The HuntingPA.com Outdoor Community banner

1 - 18 of 18 Posts

·
Registered
3,258 Posts
I have the summit viper and I use the one that attaches to the rail on the stand.I love it,it stays right at hands reach.don't get the cheap plastic one,it breaks easily

·
Registered
1,855 Posts
I had one on my gorilla hang on. It was the cheap plastic one, and it broke like fishkrane said. I got the screw in for the trees (i hunt on private land) and I like it a lot, although when I go to public land I have to sit my bow in my lap which I don't like to do all that much.

·
Registered
3,258 Posts
If your stand doesn't have a rail like the summit viper,another good holder is the bowjaws holder,google it and check it out.I have one for when I use my loggy bayou stand,real nice sturdy holder

·
Registered
1,855 Posts
who makes the holder you use on the viper? I have a summit bushmaster I use when I hunt other places. I assume it would fit mine as well

·
Registered
21,042 Posts
I have so many different types of stands so I go with the portable kind.

I keep a few of those little ones and two of the bigger one's with a swing arm and hooks for calls and such in my pack at all times.

·
Super Moderator
13,237 Posts
I have never found any hanger I though was ideal. I have used 3 different types on my stand, stand rail and every thing on a tree from screw in coat hangers to the commercial type. During the peak periods I stand and hold my bow vertically. This makes me more alert and minimizes movement, but can't be sustained all day in the stand.

·
Registered
1,274 Posts
I guess I'm a weird one, but I still use an old Baker BTS for my climber. I have to stand up in the stand. But I have found the most comfortable position for me.

Either on stand or on the ground, if I am stationary, I have the bottom wheel resting on the instep my left foot. My right hand is on top of the upper wheel.

All that I have to do is bend slightly, bring the bow into shooting position, draw, and shoot.

·