The HuntingPA.com Outdoor Community banner
1 - 20 of 21 Posts

·
Registered
1,619 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Can I kill a bobcat on my farm during season without a bobcat tag? I am legal to kill a deer on my farm with a farm tag and was wondering if the same was true for bobcats.

·
Registered
3,286 Posts
Contact your district office.Bobcats are allowed to be hunted by permit so it may be for reporting purposes.You may have to get a permit.I do not think they cost very much.

·
Registered
1,619 Posts
Discussion Starter · #4 ·
Why are bobcats different than deer or bear? If I make my living off the farm I don't need a tag to harvest them.

·
Registered
994 Posts
So you are saying you can kill a bear without a tag.

Are these bobcats affecting your livelihood, causing crop damage or are you just too cheap to buy a license?

·
Registered
2,729 Posts
Now that they have opened it to everyone I don't see why you should not be allowed to, but remember jj(.5?), this is PA.....

mtncur -- yep, he can.

·
Registered
25,155 Posts
A farmer can hunt his own land and land adjacent to his property without a license.

If the farmer wants to travel to other lands he must obtain a license.

·
Registered
1,619 Posts
Discussion Starter · #8 ·
You could be right maybe I'm cheap but I thought I was being frugal, I'm not sure where frugal ends and cheap begins but maybe you could inform me. If I don't have to buy a bobcat tag to kill one why would I? By law I don't need to buy a regular hunting lic. but I do to support the PGC. Between that and feeding all the wildlife I have off our crops for the last thirty years that is all the donation I wish to make.

·
Banned
26,979 Posts