The HuntingPA.com Outdoor Community banner
1 - 15 of 15 Posts

·
Registered
257 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
What kinda of blood trails have you guys been getting, esp. the guys who are using round balls. I'm kinda new to flintlock hunting, I helped my cousin recover a doe a couple days ago with hardly a drop of blood and the shot placement was spot on! Luckily we had some snow to help us out.

·
Registered
1,955 Posts
Well that's kinda what usually happens with a .50 roundball. I can't say about a .54 or .58 roundball because I have not shot a deer with them. I think with snow you should still be able to find your deer because they usually don't go too far with a good hit. With a poor hit you may lose them.

I have been using saboted 300 grain xtp's and there has been no blood trail with them because they have all just dropped right there. It looks like they wouldn't produce any better of a blood trail though because there is no expansion but it does always exit. For some reason though I still want to shoot roundball and take careful shots.

Conical bullets had always produced really good blood trails but again I don't really like using them. For one reason they can move off the charge on a clean barrel and I don't like fouling attracting moisture in a dirty bore; it's a potential serious problem that I prefer to avoid. They are much heavier and recoil more but can be very accurate with the right equipment and loads and they tend to slam stuff pretty good and lots blood to trail if the deer does happen not to go right down. Even a powerbelt bullet can come loose from the skirt and move off the charge.

This primitive season is challenging so just try to make good shots and follow up. I have lost a few to roundball but I don't shoot beyond 80 yards with one anymore and I haven't lost one with a ball for years.

·
Registered
6,802 Posts