The HuntingPA.com Outdoor Community banner

1 - 14 of 14 Posts

·
Registered
4 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Howdy,

I am new to muzzleloaders and did a lot of research prior to purchacing a Triumph in January. I shoot with open sights because you cannot use a scope in Colorado during hunting season. I tried 777 and Jim Shockey's, both in FFG. The 777 groups were OK. Jim Shockey's gave me speed variasions of almost 200 fps shot to shot and groups were miserable.

I recently tried Blackhorn 209. It is grouping well as long as I do not move when it hang fires. Load is 120 grains with 350 grain Hornady FPB bullets. I am using W209 Shotshell Primers. I would like to continue using the Blackhorn 209 if I can eliminate the hang fires.

I have read as much as I can find regarding hang fires with this powder on different types of muzzle loaders. The information that makes sence to me is regarding the flash hole size. The recommended flash hole size is .035 - .036 inches. I have been religous about making sure the flash hole and breech plug are clean, although the flash hole channel can be hard to get everything out of. I was looking on-line today trying to verify the size of the flash hole on my Speed Breech XT Breech Plug. I could not find that information. Can you provide it. My measurements of the flash hole inside the concave end would probably not be accurate.

Looking for options here. I am considering asking a gunsmith to drill the flash hole to .036 inches if it is smaller than what the Blackhorn 209 needs.

Thoughts/Information Appreciated

·
Banned
1,109 Posts
W209 primers are your problem. Federal 209A or better yet, CCI 209M primers are the best to use. Winchesters are not hot enough. Leave your plug alone! Just change your primers.

·
Registered
4 Posts
Discussion Starter #7
Thanks all,