The HuntingPA.com Outdoor Community banner

1 - 20 of 25 Posts

·
Registered
542 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hey guys, just got invited to Canada for caribou and black bear hunting. What caliber rifle should i bring? There is a light weight limit because we are flying in and out so i cannot bring 2 rifles. I have never done this before and would appreciate your opinions.
thanks,
matt

·
Registered
4,869 Posts
Lucky dog! My favorite animals to hunt! I have done this hunt several times and IMO the .30-06 with 180 grain premium bullets is a great choice. I know killing a caribou can be done with a lot less but those bears can get pretty big up north. Have a great trip and I hope to see some harvest pics! Where you headed to and with what outfitter?

·
Registered
1,203 Posts
big28hunter said:
Lucky dog! My favorite animals to hunt! I have done this hunt several times and IMO the .30-06 with 180 grain premium bullets is a great choice. I know killing a caribou can be done with a lot less but those bears can get pretty big up north. Have a great trip and I hope to see some harvest pics! Where you headed to and with what outfitter?
X2 !

·
Registered
542 Posts
Discussion Starter · #4 ·
It wont be til 2015 unfortunately so it is a long wait!
lol but the Doctor I work with has been to the same outfitter several times, I think he said it was Leaf River outiftters? It is in Quebec I believe. Kind of pricey but he said is almost guarantees, and if the migration is not near the camp they will fly you to the area the herd is.
The Doc i work with does several hunts every year all over the world and he says he does this one every 2 or 3 years because he enjoys it so much and he has tagged out every time he has gone there about 6 times.

·
Registered
10,703 Posts