The HuntingPA.com Outdoor Community banner

1 - 18 of 18 Posts

·
Registered
294 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hi guys. I am new to muzzleloading and I have a T/C Renegade .54 Flintlock. It has been in storage for a very lock time and the lock assembly needed worked on as it wouldn't "cock" so I sent it into T/C and am awaiting its return. In the meantime, I cannot find MaxiBall bullets for the caliber. And when I do, they're real heavy. I was looking into the Hornady Great Plains bullets. They have them for .54 in 425 gr. Anybody here ever use these out of this muzzleloader? If not, what has performed well for you out of a Renegade .54? All advice/suggestions are appreciated!

·
Registered
4,327 Posts
Try a 530 or 535 round ball. They are worth a shot. Powerbelts are $$$ . I know the Deerstalker worked great with a round ball combo unless you are shooting competition save the money ...

·
Registered
110 Posts
I shoot a .530 round ball and a .020 patch in a .54 Renegade with 80 grains of 2F. The groups are really good. I tried the Great Plains with 90 grains plus an over the powder wad and did get good groups. The recoil is more and it's not cheap shooting, but if you're hunting with them it should be really effective.

·
Registered
294 Posts
Discussion Starter #5
I shoot a .530 round ball and a .020 patch in a .54 Renegade with 80 grains of 2F. The groups are really good. I tried the Great Plains with 90 grains plus an over the powder wad and did get good groups. The recoil is more and it's not cheap shooting, but if you're hunting with them it should be really effective.
Try a 530 or 535 round ball. They are worth a shot. Powerbelts are $$$ . I know the Deerstalker worked great with a round ball combo unless you are shooting competition save the money ...