The HuntingPA.com Outdoor Community banner

1 - 20 of 71 Posts

·
Registered
2,933 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
whenever a bear gun debate starts you always here at least one guy make this statement : well when i'm on stand i carry ........... and when i'm a driver i carry ...... well my question is where and how do you hunt ? i hunt in a very succesful gang .we start the day going from drive to drive . i personally prefer being a driver ,however sometimes things change .no way i would want to be carrying two guns all day . i have never heard of such things as a gun for this and a gun for that . but i see it every year on here . above all i consider myself a bear hunter , and in know way would i want to slow our gang down to change guns , and neither would anyone else in our gang . does anyone else ever wonder the same thing .

·
Registered
242 Posts
I personally now sit in the laurel and don't move all day. My success or luck has been sitting. My short stint of driving I watched about six guys switch from rifle to pistol or shotgun without slowing us down at all. If something changed while driving they lived with what they carried in. There extra gun stayed in the truck. The only thing I wonder is how they can think right knowing there extra gun is in the truck.

·
Registered
10,703 Posts
I have wondered that at times also. I mean where are you hunting that you need to switch rifles. Even if you are carrying say an 18 1/2" barreled .45/70 in a Marlin guide gun, you can still shoot like 150 yards with that or more. If you are hunting bears on a drive and need to shoot more than 150 yards, I kinda question where you are standing. Where we hunt bears, you just can't shoot that far. I don't know. Maybe some of these guys are just hunting different than we do.

·
Registered
6,416 Posts