The HuntingPA.com Outdoor Community banner

1 - 8 of 8 Posts

·
Registered
801 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I took out 4 beagles this morning,they ran 3 rabbits. Did'nt get any
I then took them to an overgrown field with some small trees in the middle and one dog opens up and off they go. Except daisy comes back
They circle it ,but I don't see it .They go around again ( a big swampy area ) but go out of hearing
, and daisy is by my side
I walk for 30 min. and find the other 3 beagles 1/4 mile away.
I know grey fox circle ;do coyote ? I need A garmin astro ASAP !

·
Registered
1,857 Posts
The Garmin is an absolute great tool.
I love mine.

I am no fox expert but in my experience, a gray will run fairly tigh but a red will get up and go.
Any chance it was a red ???

John L

·
Registered
801 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
Could have been a red fox;but whatever it was it ran about a 150 yds. and circled right by me but I never seen what it was.Then it ran about half the same circle again and then the dogs went out of hearing. When Daisy came back to me and the dogs circled it the first time I thought that was strange,I was sure it was a rabbit.I talked to a neighbor as I was leaving and she said she saw 2 fox pups last fall;did'nt say if they were red or grey.

·
Registered
1,462 Posts
I like running fox almost as much as rabbits.(the season is longer and you can hunt 'em on Sunday)

·
Registered
3,998 Posts
Are you positive it wasn't a rabbit? I've had my dogs go out of hearing for what seemed like a few hundred yards and I swore they were on a deer which is unusual. Sure enough I was wrong and after a few minutes I could hear them again and it ended up being a rabbit after all.

·
Registered
18,426 Posts