The HuntingPA.com Outdoor Community banner

1 - 8 of 8 Posts

·
Registered
4,646 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Would like to hear some others thoughts on whether beagles can be obedient. I have very little experience witht the breed, never owned one. But friends beagles have never seemed to be very biddable. They seem aloof when off the chain or out of the kennel and sometimes ignore their owner. Especially frustrating when its a house dog that gets let out to do its business and you have to watch it like a hawk.

Not to mention the garbage raiders and corner poopers.

Not saying that a beagle cannot be biddable, just looking for input from those with alot of experience.

Also, where would one look for a pup from a line that is known for its obedience and hunting ability?

Is there a difference between females and males concerning obedience?

·
Registered
12,798 Posts
They CAN be headstrong. You have to be just as headstrong as them. Consistency is important. You also need to realize they are led by the nose. A tie out is nice to have. I have an invisible fence. There are very few truly bad beagles, just poor trainers.

·
Registered
506 Posts
My little girl listens very good. But when she is hunting she can and will be head strong and sometimes stubborn.
I believe the more time you spend with them(not running or hunting time) the better they will listen!
JMO!! John

·
Registered
3,715 Posts
They can be obedient if you work with them and train them to be. I can call my beagle off a rabbit in the yard when he starts to chase without his shock collar on. Yes he is still stubborn with the collar even on and occasional training sessions remind him who is still in charge.