The HuntingPA.com Outdoor Community banner

1 - 20 of 26 Posts

·
Registered
699 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hi guys,
I am a long time gun hunter with some questions about arrows. I started to get into shooting a bow a few years back, purchased one, then was sidelined with a couple of surgeries. I have dusted off the bow and I am able to shoot again. There seems to be an endless supply of products out there for bow hunters. One product I don't seem to understand are arrow wraps. I have several questions about them.
What purpose do they serve? Does the fletching attach better to wraps? Is it just a cool factor? Does the wrap affect arrow flight at all? I use a whisker biscuit, will that tear up the wraps? Can they be easily removed when they have to be replaced?
These might sound like stupid questions, but being a gun guy all these years I am still learning the archery game. You guys have way to many accessories to choose from !!
gets cunfusing for a newbie. Thanks

·
Registered
3,843 Posts
My big thing with arrow raps are identification.
Wether you are identifying your arrow from a friends or if you shoot a deer and the arrow is still sticking out, you'll be better able to see it as the deer runs off.

·
Registered
3,722 Posts
Squeaks nailed it. It is so much easier to see an arrow that has been wrapped. The wraps also add a personalized touch to the kill. Luminoks do the same job even better in low light.

·
Registered
3,028 Posts
Makes fletching easier to remove from carbon arrows, arrow wrap residue cleans up easily with isopropyl alchol. As others mentioned, easier to follow arrow flight to your target, especially when you use wraps with a lot of white.