The HuntingPA.com Outdoor Community banner

1 - 20 of 27 Posts

·
Registered
1,857 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Antlers or age? Which better represents a PA trophy buck? I'm starting to sense a shift in my mentality, but I'm not certain that I'm 100% ready to embrace it. I used to be one of those guys that didn't believe PA bucks reached old age. Well the longer I continue to play this game the better I'm getting at it from the buck intel side of it. I'm currently monitoring five different properties in two different counties, and four of those properties possess 5 year old bucks or older. (I suspect the 5th property does as well but this is my first year monitoring it.) I never would've believed this a few years ago. None of these bucks possess record book racks. Age and body size are starting to picque my curiosity. Thought for fodder anyway.

·
Registered
857 Posts
I’m hunting all public land and will most likely shoot the first 100 inch deer i get a chance at. The last couple years those chances are far a few between. There are plenty of higher scoring and older deer here though. Putting them in front of me in November is a different story.

·
Registered
2,875 Posts
I tend to believe that a true PA trophy buck is one that made it to 5+ years... because that's still somewhat a rarity.... regardless of rack size.
But I'm a meat hunter these days... no more room or desire for Trophies.
I agree, Making 5 years in Pa is tough. With all the hunters and road traffic very few make it past 3. We do have a few whoppers. Of course I don't help the cause, If it's legal I'm taking it

·
Registered
3,681 Posts