The HuntingPA.com Outdoor Community banner

1 - 20 of 38 Posts

·
Registered
444 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
So I recently got a Leupold VX-5HD scope with the CDS dial for my Remington 700 chambered in .30-06 to give more magnification for a little longer range shooting. Being that the scope is higher end than the VX-2s I have on most of my other rifles and I have to chose a load to stick with for the custom CDS dial, I figured I would try a more premium bonded ammo just case I ever use it for bigger game than deer. I currently use Remington 180 gr. Core Lokt in this gun and have never shot any other ammo out of any of my other rifles, so I have no other experiences with different makes.

So I picked up a box of Remington Premier Scirocco Bonded 180gr. Ammo and shot it for the first time today. I have to say I was highly disappointed in the accuracy. Shots were about 4-6” as a group if you can call it that, but they were not consistent as far as up and down. One shot was that far up and then one would be down. This was at 100 yards, so not good. After giving up on the Scirroco as I doubt I would have confidence in the after see the gun shot pereciusly with the Core Lokt, I shot the scope in with the Core-Lokts I have always used for now. So after all that would the Nosler Accubond be a better choice or would you just stick the Core-Lokts as I know they should well out of this rifle already. I realize all guns can be different with different rounds, so just looking for some thoughts.

·
Registered
16,370 Posts
i went thru the same thing with my trusty old rem 700 bolt action 30-06, i tried a bunch of the premium stuff. most accurate i could find without spending more money was the old tried and true 150 grain rem core lokts. right around 2 inches at 200 yards maybe a little under. i dont ever see a need to change again. the furthest i plan to shoot is 300 yards. already took two deer at 221 and 230 yards, both one shot kills.