The HuntingPA.com Outdoor Community banner

1 - 20 of 20 Posts

·
Registered
19 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hey guys,

I'm completely new to muzzleloader hunting and just got a Lyman deerstalker .50 flintlock as a gift. I need to buy all the required accesories and was looking to get some input on what essentials I'll need. I'd also appreciate any load suggestions for sighting it in and then for deer hunting. Thanks in advance.

·
Registered
12,267 Posts
There has been a few threads just like this. The guys at the store will be more than happy to seel you 500 bucks worth of seldom used accessories. There is the bare minimum, the pretty handy, the seldom used but nice to haves, and thhe "what did I buy that fors"

Real black powder, 2fg or 3fg. If you get 3fg, you can get by with thhat in the pan as well.

round balls, .490 0r .495

patches, perhaps 10 to 15 thousandths

use spit for lube cheap, always have it with you etcc. liquid cooking oil works well too

a powder measure. preferrably adjustable 50 to 100 grains

ball starter

a paper clip, to use as a touchhole pick.

an extra flint, a ball puller, pliers swcrew driver, range rod, tackle box to carry stuff, powder flask or horn, priming horn, extra flint leather, tool to knapp the edge of the flint, cleaning patches, bore cleaner, gun oil, the list can go on and on.

One of the things about muzzleloader shooters, we tend to take pride in making things for ourselves. Ball starter, ball block, ball pouch, possible bag, powder measures etc, are all relatively easy to make. Take and antler spike and drill it out for a measure, (or just use an old cartridge case.) A ball starter is as simple as a knob fastened to a stout dowel Where in central pa are you? I believe Blue Ridge has their Labor Day rendezvous in 9 days You could visit those shooters annd get some pointers, and maybe even pick up some equipment from a trade blanket.
Of course, that is just a skip from Dixon's.

·
Registered
889 Posts