The HuntingPA.com Outdoor Community banner

1 - 11 of 11 Posts

·
Registered
179 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
HELP!!!.....i have been hunting whitetail and turkey for 16 years with a camp of close to 40 guys and not one has ever duck hunted. I am extremely interested in learning how and where. i live in delaware county and im not even sure if this part of the state even offers good locations....i am looking to you fine people to point me in the right direction.....is going to an out of state outfitter a good way to "literally" get my feet wet?

·
Registered
74 Posts
If you are trying to decide whether you want to hunt ducks or not and just want to try it, then going with an outfitter would be a good call. MD has some good ones. Be sure and wait until the ducks get here before you go other wise you'll have a hard time getting any. If after you go and decide that you love it then you can start laying out the cash you'll need to get in the game.

·
Registered
2,207 Posts
Going with a guide is a good way to shoot, but not a very accurate way to find out what duck hunting is really like for a new guy.

Duck hunting is expensive and will cost you a lot more than deer and turkey hunting combined. If you like to hunt, you'll love duck hunting. It's the investment into clothes, waders, calls, decoys, watercraft and maybe even a dog you need to consider. Because even if you say you don't need it to start, you will.

·
Registered
6,662 Posts
You live in Delaware county, maybe goose hunting in your area but it's not home to any great duck hunting.
Being so close you should go East and concentrate on NJ which has far more ducks than the Philly area.

Hooking up with a guide would be a good way to start. You'll learn things like, decoy placement, decoy numbers, how wind direction affects the hunt, calling, gun, choke, ammo, and equipment necessary for killing ducks.

·
Registered
5,583 Posts
DTaylor said: