The HuntingPA.com Outdoor Community banner

1 - 11 of 11 Posts

·
Registered
364 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Looking to make some mods to my model 7's wooden stock. Took it to a gunsmith and he recommended removing the support hump in the stock and glass bedding it. Did some research and found a lot of guys say not to remove the hump because of the thin (pencil) barrels on the model 7's. Others say removing the hump makes a big improvement in accuracy. Any experience with these mods?

·
Registered
4,537 Posts
I would full length bed it. I have been shooting Model Sevens for at least 25 years and have always found they shoot best with the pressure point or full length bedding job. Also, I don't expect BR groups from the little rifle and I want the cold bore shot to hit where I aim it.

·
Registered
51 Posts
Bed it! I've done a bunch of them over the years and it does help. I group before and after and have always seen very good improvements in groups plus you get consistency in your zero.

·
Registered
2,719 Posts
I have a fiberglass (not injection molded plastic) model 7 that shoots best with a pressure point. I have other guns with light contour barrels that shoot best when floated.There is no way to say your gun will or will not shoot better or more consistant with or without the pressure point. The only way to know for sure is to try it.