The HuntingPA.com Outdoor Community banner

1 - 7 of 7 Posts

·
Registered
674 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I put a post in the 760 thread asking about how to take these guns apart, but I figured I should make it a new topic. I have a 760 Gamemaster that I want to take apart to clean up the action. Specifically the slide tube. The pump is very stiff and I think that is where the problem is. Has anyone ever taken theirs apart? I've read a few things on different sites, and seem to get a few different answers. I tried one of them with no luck. Do I have to unscrew the tube to get the slide off?

·
Registered
4,466 Posts
Yes you have to unscrew the tube. You need a long shank screw driver or metal punch. It goes through the holes in the tube.
There's a rubber O ring inside the tube, probably your problem and will need to be replaced.

·
Registered
3,815 Posts
The gun should obviously be unloaded.
open the action to reveal the two small holes in the tube.
A long pin or I use a small phillips head screw driver to rotate the tube, inserting it thru the holes in the tube. Rotate, counterclockwise. It is a long thread.

When you remove the forened wood and tube will be hangin without forward support, don't bent it. Dirt may be inside the forend tube. You can clean it with a patch and rod. Or you can remove it by closing the action(move it forward). If you take the action/forend assbly out, it can be difficult to get her back together.

I don't remember any o-rings on the 760, but they maybe there (or on the 7600)as anti-rattling devices?

·
Banned
13,401 Posts
I've replaced the o-rings on model 760's before. It's about an hour project but well worth it.

·
Registered
674 Posts
Discussion Starter #6