The HuntingPA.com Outdoor Community banner
1 - 7 of 7 Posts

·
Registered
889 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I just picked up a new(to me) 36 caliber MZ. It is a custom built rifle, that a fellow had and his widow wanted to sell it, so I picked it up. It is a Plain Jane custom, but that is no big deal. It is built like a Southern Mountain Rifle in style with a 34" barrel.

I have never owned or shot a smaller caliber MZ before. I have been shooting 45 caliber and larger MZ's for 40 years. So I am not new to MZ's. But as I said I am new to the 36 caliber.

Any tips or things I should look out for. The rifle twist is 1in48. I ordered my accessories this afternoon. Including .010, .015, and .018 patches along with .350 round balls. thanks, Tom.

·
Registered
6,539 Posts
The 36,IMHO,is better suited for turkey,groundhog,yote,etc.It will work on squirrels but is a bit bigger than needed.IF LEGAL would work on deer with a proper charge.Know of some in years past that used it sucesfully on elk.
I have one in a TC Seneca.It likes 40grs of FFFg,.010 red stripe pillow,and a .360 RB.Before I came up with this all I got was about 1 1/2" at 25yds.Maxis gave almost 1 hole groups but I personally don't like to use them.My groups now.Lower shot is after sight adjustment.

Try all the varibles of patch thickness,powder types and amounts,and you are probably going to settle with a .350 ball.
My guess is 40grs of FFFg,.015 patch,and .350 RB.

·
Registered
12,506 Posts