The HuntingPA.com Outdoor Community banner

1 - 20 of 33 Posts

·
Registered
142 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Any guys out there use a 280 REM.?I own 4 ,280s..I simply love this caliber.I have other guys on different site say its the same as a 270 but,i feel{{{AND I MY BE WRONG}}} the 280 has more shocking power on game than a 270.I have owend both calibers and feel stongly on the 280 over the 270.I have taken CHUCKS,DEER,CARiBOU,BEAR and YOTES with the 280 rem.everything i shoot drops in their tracks.The CARIBOU i shot in QUBEC was 340YDS.I held 4" high and he dropped like a ton of bricks.I use 140 grn.soft point.MANUFACTORY AMO.I have shot deer and 1 BEAR with the 270 and never had the results of the 280 rem.Dont get me wrong the 270 did kill everything i shot but,Never droped where i hit them like the 280REM.I own 2 RUGAR 280s,1 REM.MT rifle in 280 and a REM pump 280.My favorite is the MT.RIFLE.I have been useing the 280 caliber for the last 24 years.I can remember when it was called the 7MM express.Any coments for or against id love to hear.THANKS.

·
Registered
876 Posts
I love the 280, The ballistics are outstanding. But what I would really like to get a semi custom in 280 AI. I have been a 30 cal hunter most of my life I'm going to be giving the 270 with 130 grain Accubonds a try for this deer season.

·
Registered
136 Posts
I have a ruger m77 .280 rem in stainless! I have yet to shoot anything with it, I'll be using 150 grain soft points. Hope to deer after a bear this year and shoot a WV and PA buck this year with it

·
Registered
158 Posts
My .280 Remington reamer just arrived this week, so I see at least another one for me and, hopefully, a few customer rifles in .280. I have a Model 70 Featherweight .280, now.

·
Registered
964 Posts
I have a .280 Remington model 700 bought it at an estate sale for $200 and a sweet shooter she is. It has an "A' serial# made in 1980, it has 7MM Express stamped on barrel.

·
Registered
1,237 Posts