The HuntingPA.com Outdoor Community banner

1 - 20 of 37 Posts

·
Registered
1,095 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hey, I'm planning on taking my .243 out on the opener and was wondering what brand and grain of bullet ya'll would recommend to do the most damage on a deer. Since its not really one of the "bigger" rounds, I just want to pick the most lethal one I can find. Obviously I know shot placement is foremost, but I'm just looking for some suggestions. Thanks

·
Registered
99 Posts
I have been using Hornady, American Whitetail for the last 3 or 4 years, and shot 2 deer with them. They performed perfectly. I even recovered one of the bullets, it held together and mushroomed perfectly. I would highly recommend them.

·
Banned
26,979 Posts
I bought the Remington 100 grn coreloct for my grandson's .243. I have confidence it will get the job done.

·
Registered
1,811 Posts
I?ve harvested many deer using 100 grain Sierra spritzer boatails, most dropped in their tracks. IMO .243 with a 100 gr bullet one of the best deer rounds out there. I think Hornady makes some quality .243 ammo in that weight

·
Premium Member
24,151 Posts
I used a 243 for 10 years and killed a lot of deer with it using the 100 gr Remington corelokts they didn?t go far either

Reactions: AgesofDays

·
Registered
2,280 Posts
Hornady's new Superformance ammo is supposed to be pretty good. Of course I trust pretty much anything Hornady makes. Remington Corelokts have certainly killed plenty of deer, but if you're looking for something high performance I would go with Hornady or Nosler ammo.

·
Registered
267 Posts
Hornady's new Superformance ammo is supposed to be pretty good. Of course I trust pretty much anything Hornady makes. Remington Corelokts have certainly killed plenty of deer, but if you're looking for something high performance I would go with Hornady or Nosler ammo.