The HuntingPA.com Outdoor Community banner

1 - 11 of 11 Posts

·
Registered
1,872 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
The 2012 season had its ups and downs for me. I was invited "on business" to go to Colorado in October to hunt elk. The trip was unbelievable. I was supposed to hunt for 6 days, starting on Saturday, but ended up extending my trip by 3 days. I saw Elk every day and bulls every day but one. We were 4 days into our trip and I just couldn't put it altogether. The elk were either too far or moving too fast. At the end of the fourth day, I decided to delay my flight by a few days. I knew I was getting close and a snow storm was moving in, which I hoped would change my luck. On Friday, when I was supposed to be boarding the plane, I was watching a big bull make his way through the aspens below me. When he finally hit a big opening, I started shooting. The first shot was in the boiler room, but the elk didn't move. I hit him a second time, a third time, and finally a fourth time, before his legs started to wobble. I wasn't sure how big the bull was but knew he was legal for the area. I was surprised when I finally got my hands on him.

After returning from Colorado, I hunted Pa and Ohio as hard as I could. It was a challenging archery season for me. I had numerous trail cam pics of big deer in both states, but was never able to catch up with one of them.

I was fortunate to take a nice Pa deer with my bow during the last week of archery. Strangely, I had logged a couple of hundred hours on stand during the archery season and this buck showed up less then a minute after getting on stand for the afternoon hunt.

Additionally, I hunted Nebraska for 7 days but never saw a deer that excited me. EHD in the midwest really did a number on the deer herd this year.

I bow hunted Ohio all of Thanksgiving week and 6 days of gun season. I saw one nice buck on opening morning of gun season and the rest of the season was spent bird watching