The HuntingPA.com Outdoor Community banner

1 - 20 of 28 Posts

·
Super Moderator
4,882 Posts
I’ve been using 3 blade Spitfires for over 20 years. Used them with X bow since 2009. I now buy the stiffer x-bow version they now make, to prevent in- flight opening. I like them because in over 40 deer I shot with them, I never found evidence of non deployment, had good blood trails, and never had a broken blade. A few were bent, but not broken.

·
Registered
234 Posts
i have been using gators for years. have shot many with them out of tenpoint crossbows. they are sold at bass pro. formerly made by rocky mountain.

·
Registered
901 Posts
I have tried a few different ones in my Excalibur but my favorite by far is the NAP spitfire XXX. The blades are very durable and always open when they are supposed to

·
Super Moderator
4,562 Posts
I used Rage 2+" cut crossbow hypodermics this year.The entrance and exit wound were in a word very large.It hit the knee joint and the arrow almost bounced back out of the entrance hole.It sounded like hitting a tree with a sledgehammer.No damage and the blades appeared to be sharp enough to reuse but I would use a new one for another deer.I bought them on ebay for $20 shipped to my house.3 pack with a practice blade.They were around $50 at local stores and other online stores.If I can find more at that price I will buy them.They were not the Chinese knockoffs sold on there.

·
Registered
222 Posts
Rage 100 gr. hands down. There are 4 of us that hunt together all the time, all use 100 gr RAGE. Never lost a deer with this broadhead. even on a bad hit, always a lot of blood to track the animal and recover. On good placed shots, down in 40 yd or less. And not that we take a bad shot but sometimes it happens, stick you dont see or other uncontrolled reasons. ( 2 BLADE ) 2" cuts

·
Registered
792 Posts
Discussion Starter #10