The HuntingPA.com Outdoor Community

The HuntingPA.com Outdoor Community (https://www.huntingpa.com/forums/)
-   Big Game Hunting Forum (https://www.huntingpa.com/forums/21-big-game-hunting-forum/)
-   -   Morning or Evening (https://www.huntingpa.com/forums/21-big-game-hunting-forum/60557-morning-evening.html)

PaTenPointGrl 10-07-2012 03:45 PM

Morning or Evening

This is my first year hunting. I did go out last year with my husband, saw a lot of action, but no luck. I'm wondering if the success for everyone is better in the morning or the evening? It seems that when we get out in the evening, we don't see any deer until its right at dark. And every time we've gone out in the morning we haven't seen anything at all.

huntin-nut 10-07-2012 04:39 PM

Re: Morning or Evening

I guess you answered your own question. Seriously though it all depends on the spot. Some areas work better in the morning and some evening. You have to evaluate each location. All my spots are better evening stands as it is almost impossible to get to the stands without spooking deer in the morning, better when bedded to get in during the afternoon and then let them move. I rarely hunt mornings especially this time of year as my success is like yours - see little to nothing in morning, better in evening. Activity should start picking up earlier in evenings now as weather chills some and rut activity increases. When hot they don't like moving until it cools some which is why you see them right at dark - cooler temps to move in.

WexfordBowhunter 10-07-2012 04:46 PM

My successes have been split almost 50-50 between morning and evening. It all depends on your spot.

Jms44 10-07-2012 04:48 PM

20 Attachment(s)
Once the rut kicks in to full gear and if you have the time. Spend the entire day out in the woods. Pack a lunch and you will be suprised what you see mid-day.

turkey4life 10-07-2012 04:51 PM

evening

3D Hunter 10-07-2012 05:24 PM