Gear help please - The HuntingPA.com Outdoor Community

LinkBack Thread Tools
post #1 of 19 (permalink) Old 02-08-2014, 12:30 AM Thread Starter
Frequent Contributor

Gear help please

I'm looking to buy a backpacking tent I just picked up a Teton scout 3400 backpack to use for my backpacking and camping trips (55 liter) and now I need a tent and a sleeping bag. I'm 6'2 and 155 lbs so I get cold easy I'm looking for a single person or 1.5 person incase I take my dog along. Has to be waterproof and any first hand recommendations would be great. I was looking at a "Eurika solitaire" but I'm not sure it would fit myself and my dog but I think I could possibly make it work. Any help would be great. Fair warning I'm a pure rookie when it comes to this stuff so easy on the lingo hahaha!!!

Sleeping bag and tent help greatly appreciated

Ryan.

Killin' and grillin'
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 19 (permalink) Old 02-08-2014, 01:56 PM
Frequent Contributor

Re: Gear help please

For me I would not go with a 1 person tent. Too small. I have a 2 person tent and my sleeping bag from EMS. The tent is a North Face todpole and the sleeping bag is s 20 degree Cat's meow. The sleeping bag is a little big when packed, but does keep me warm. My backpack is an Osprey Aether 70. Look on line at EMS, REI and Golite. They have a lot of choices. I am 5'10" and carry a full sleeping pad. Other sites to look at are hiking sites. Try trail journals or white blazes. Good luck. Since you're up in Altoona you need to practice on the Black Forest trail. It's a gut buster but fun.

Enjoy life and take a hike on the AT.
post #3 of 19 (permalink) Old 02-09-2014, 04:31 AM Thread Starter
Frequent Contributor

Still browsing for a tent for myself. No way I can afford a 275$ tent at this point. Although it is really nice. My max is $150 for the tent. I'm torn kinda thinking either a 1 or 1.5 person incase I'd decide to take my dog. Any other suggestions?