Camp stoves - The HuntingPA.com Outdoor Community

LinkBack Thread Tools
post #1 of 20 (permalink) Old 02-06-2014, 05:54 PM Thread Starter
The Man

Camp stoves

I'm dreaming of spring and backpacking trips, something I'm just getting into. One of the items I'd like to pick up is a packable camp stove. I've seen the MSR variety and JetBoil in use. I'm leaning towards a JetBoil (either Flash or SOL model), my friend is adamant that I should get a MSR (pocket rocket specifically). I see the utility in both, and being that the MSR is so cheap, may well get it as well.

What do you guys have? Pros? Cons?

"I suppose it is the way of hunters. We are very odd fellows." ~ Peter Hathaway Capstick
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 20 (permalink) Old 02-07-2014, 12:40 AM
Frequent Contributor

Re: Camp stoves

I have a pocket rocket and really like it. I've done some hiking and overnights the past 3 years and have used it on each hike. I'm getting ready for an AT thru hike in about 3 years when I retire. The other guys I hike with also use the pocket rocket. I bought mine at EMS. We just hiked the weekend after Christmas and with temps in the teens one morning it worked very well. Right now I don't have any cons.

Enjoy life and take a hike on the AT.
post #3 of 20 (permalink) Old 02-11-2014, 01:03 AM
Part of the Community

About 10 years ago or more I picked up an MSR Whisperlight International. It wasn't cheap for me then. But 10 years and hours upon hours of use later & I haven't even used the re-build kit I bought when I got the stove. occasionally the jet will get clogged with soot, but a few knocks on a rock and the shaker jet clears right up.

I've packed this stove while back packing many times. I used it to cook several times/week one summer while I was doing a college internship & the kitchen was less than ideal to cook in. More recently it's gone along on dozens of over night padding trips where I was more often car camping than over night padding.