Problem is when he replaced the ball via dropping it he gave himself an advantage. The tournament official who ruled on the drop incorrectly gave it his approval. Even still, Tiger knew he gave himself an advantage but did not know he broke a rule. What complicates it further was his intent and no knows that but Tiger.
The fact that the rules committee made a decision (2 stoke penalty) and did not tell Tiger about it until after he finished his round and signed his card.....is being used as a reason for not DQ'ing him. They met with Tiger and his people at 8:00 this morning to view the footage and discuss further. End result is they feel Tiger's intent was not to give himself an advantage. Therefore a DQ is not warranted. I wonder how much CBS had to do with this?