Choke Tube For Trap? - The HuntingPA.com Outdoor Community
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools
post #1 of 16 (permalink) Old 05-28-2014, 10:05 AM Thread Starter
The Man
 
Goosehunter's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Schoeneck, Lancaster County
Posts: 6,444
Back To Top
Choke Tube For Trap?

Been awhile since I've been shooting trap but I'm heading to the local sportsmen club tomorrow to shoot my Super Vinci.
I'm using one of the factory choke tubes. IC, MOD or IM
Also, what size shot?

What would you recommend?

I've spent most of my money on Waterfowling, Women and Whiskey.
The rest of my money I just wasted.
Goosehunter is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 16 (permalink) Old 05-28-2014, 12:21 PM
Hooked on HuntingPa
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: SE PA
Posts: 424
Back To Top
Re: Choke Tube For Trap?

Usually Full choke is used, but of your choices IM will be fine.
7.5 or 8 shot.
NA_Wreckdiver is offline  
post #3 of 16 (permalink) Old 05-28-2014, 12:26 PM Thread Starter
The Man
 
Goosehunter's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Schoeneck, Lancaster County
Posts: 6,444
Back To Top
Re: Choke Tube For Trap?

Didn't think a full choke would be used, but that's why I asked! I've got a factory full choke to use.
Thanks

I've spent most of my money on Waterfowling, Women and Whiskey.
The rest of my money I just wasted.
Goosehunter is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #4 of 16 (permalink) Old 05-30-2014, 09:05 AM Thread Starter
The Man
 
Goosehunter's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Schoeneck, Lancaster County
Posts: 6,444
Back To Top
Re: Choke Tube For Trap?

Full choke with #8 shot worked just fine. Shot 3 rounds thru my new Super Vinci, 20, 20, and a 22.
Not bad for an old man!

I've spent most of my money on Waterfowling, Women and Whiskey.
The rest of my money I just wasted.
Goosehunter is offline  
post #5 of 16 (permalink) Old 07-23-2014, 11:09 PM
New Arrival
 
Join Date: Dec 2013
Location: Souderton, PA
Posts: 19
Back To Top
Re: Choke Tube For Trap?

Full Choke for 16 yard trap targets is overkill. A modified is more than adequate.
CatchingChrome is offline  
post #6 of 16 (permalink) Old 07-24-2014, 12:05 AM
RB
Sage
 
RB's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Home 2F, Camp 2G & 2F
Posts: 28,459
Back To Top
Re: Choke Tube For Trap?

My son has used full since the start, it is overkill but you get good with a full choke you get good PERIOD. He is as good at handicap as he is at 16 yards, no chipping his way there they disappear.

Most of those we shoot with use IMP MOD in their fancier trap guns, John uses a Rem 870 trap fixed full likely costs him a few birds to them over the long haul, especially when they shot 100 at is gets a little tiring and they get a little sloppy.

Started this summer as well,my son has shot for 3 years and already went to nationals, and they took second in OH this past weekend. My daughter started last year, standing on a trap line with tow of your kids is addicting and a real sense of pride. now if i could beat them...LOL.




"Only takes a second to change your season" Dad, 1980
RB is offline  
post #7 of 16 (permalink) Old 07-27-2014, 11:15 PM
Diehard Outdoorsman
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: wyoming county,pa.
Posts: 3,358
Back To Top
Re: Choke Tube For Trap?

I used a Modified for the first time today and ran a 50. No more IC or LM for me in trap.
Claybird John is online now  
post #8 of 16 (permalink) Old 08-02-2014, 11:45 AM
New Arrival
 
Join Date: Dec 2013
Location: Souderton, PA
Posts: 19
Back To Top
Re: Choke Tube For Trap?

If shooting a full is how you get better, than why not shoot a super full? How does he shoot handicap at 16 yards when the minimum is 18 yards? You don't get good by shooting a full choke, you get good by having proper technique. Choke has so little to do with it, people rarely miss targets due to a choke, and I will bet $100,000 on it.
CatchingChrome is offline  
post #9 of 16 (permalink) Old 08-26-2014, 12:40 PM
Diehard Outdoorsman
 
theaceman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: WMU 2D
Posts: 4,781
Back To Top
Re: Choke Tube For Trap?

I shoot an IM for 16's and h-caps out of my BT99.

I shot a full out of my shorter barrel Citori and did just fine.

Shooting a tighter choke definitely makes you stay on the bird, less room for error. I dont know if it makes you better, but no argument it is less forgiving.

Keep shooting...I love it. I just wish ammo was cheaper these days.

Take a kid hunting, it's the future of our sport and the future is now!
Wired Outdoors, Field Staff
theaceman is offline  
post #10 of 16 (permalink) Old 08-26-2014, 04:16 PM
Part of the Community
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: PA
Posts: 180
Back To Top
Re: Choke Tube For Trap?

I like to shoot full choke outta my BT 99. Shot size really doesn't matter IMO, I saw no difference between 7.5-9 shot in scores.

If you are not on a government watchlist by now you should be ashamed of yourself
Maul is offline  
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the The HuntingPA.com Outdoor Community forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.

Email Address:
OR

Log-in










Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page



Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome