TC Contender 30-30 Load - The HuntingPA.com Outdoor Community

LinkBack Thread Tools
post #1 of 13 (permalink) Old 10-09-2016, 02:24 AM Thread Starter
HTE
New Arrival

TC Contender 30-30 Load

I'm looking for advise on a 30-30 load for black bear, out of a contender (rifle configuration) with a 21" barrel.

Bullet type/weight, powder charge, etc.
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 13 (permalink) Old 10-10-2016, 09:46 PM

Re: TC Contender 30-30 Load

The nice thing about a 30/30 out of a single shot is you can use a huge array of premium bullets out of it.

Life Memeber NRA
Life Memeber NAHC
post #3 of 13 (permalink) Old 10-11-2016, 01:21 AM
Frequent Contributor

I was ready to recommend 125 Ballistic Tips but then saw it was for bear, not deer.

I've little bear experience but maybe a 150 Partition? IMR3031 or Varget? You don't need a premium bullet at 30-30 velocities but the nose of the Partitions should expand nicely and it doesn't hurt to be sure the back half holds together. Cup and cores should really be fine for the 30-30 and better than some premium bullets. The Partition is a good middle ground.
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #4 of 13 (permalink) Old 10-11-2016, 11:28 AM

Barnes Triple-Shock the way to go for bear in a 30-30
call them up tell them length of your tube and what your going for and they will say 130 or the 150 for expansion on the game and what speed range the pill need to go to open up and expand.
they some times will email you a start max data sheet if you get the right guy... make sure you tell them its out of a contender as well just in case.
around here as stated regular cup an core will work but whats a few dollars more for a prem bullet for the what ifs and most of all with a single shot you want to stake that deck in your favor ten fold.
i would still pack a side arm small 357 or 44

dave
post #5 of 13 (permalink) Old 10-11-2016, 03:46 PM
Frequent Contributor