Barrel Change could be a pain - The HuntingPA.com Outdoor Community
 
LinkBack Thread Tools
post #1 of 4 (permalink) Old 06-13-2016, 10:03 PM Thread Starter
The Man
 
Join Date: Feb 2001
Location: pennsylvania
Posts: 6,419
Back To Top
Barrel Change could be a pain

If you don't have a good place to shoot in your rifles changing a barrel out constantly on a single owned Encore action can be a pain... I do have a few dedicated Encore platforms that I never change the barrel out. Not so much for deer hunting but my fox/coytes calibers... I want them to be zero'd so I can go at any moment notice. So if you change barrels out what a good thing to do so that your barrel will be pretty close to zero the next time you use that barrel on a Encore action?
uncle buck is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 4 (permalink) Old 11-30-2017, 01:54 AM
Diehard Outdoorsman
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: North West, PA
Posts: 3,391
Back To Top
I have never had a tc encore barrel/scope combo go out of zero when changing barrels on either of my frames. The optics are mounted to the barrel, not the frame or receiver, making zero shift virtually negligible if changing at all. My .223 barrel gets swapped out at least twice a year with my deer barrels on my encore rifle frame and it always shoots zero every time, as do all three of my other rifle barrels and 4 pistol barrels on my encore pistol frame.

Big Al's "Take-Em" Style Silhouette Decoys Pro-Staff.
mightyjoeyoung is offline  
post #3 of 4 (permalink) Old 12-01-2017, 05:34 PM
Diehard Outdoorsman
 
Join Date: Oct 1999
Location: 3D, Luzerne County
Posts: 3,370
Back To Top
I own several T/C Contenders. The scope and barrel are sighted. Swapping one scope/barrel for another, then back again does not change the zero of the first scope/barrel.

For instance, I have a stainless steel T/C frame and have a 14 .223 scope/combo, a 14 .44 Magnum scope/combo and a 10 .22 Hornet scope/combo. I swap the barrels all the time and the zeros never change.

Steve
Steve in PA is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #4 of 4 (permalink) Old 12-15-2017, 09:21 AM
Hooked on HuntingPa
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Phila Pa
Posts: 449
Back To Top
Never had a problem sight it in and change all the barrels you want does not change POI.
Trout 48 is offline  
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the The HuntingPA.com Outdoor Community forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.

Email Address:
OR

Log-in










Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page



Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome