Building a boat from scratch - The HuntingPA.com Outdoor Community

LinkBack Thread Tools
post #1 of 99 (permalink) Old 08-15-2013, 10:39 PM Thread Starter
Part of the Community

Building a boat from scratch

I just thought some of you would be interested in my new project. I am building a 14'x 74" Aluminum hull. This will be what we call a Mini Airboat, They have a smaller motor than the larger boats, not as loud and use less gas, only about a gallon per hour.

I will be using a MillerMatic 211 Mig welder with a Spoolmate 100 spool gun.

The hull bottom will be .125(1/8") and the sides will be .090 as well as the transom and front deck.

The boat will be powered with a 50 HP air cooled Army Surplus engine. This is pretty much a copy of my current boat that I have been using since 2008 with very little problems. I log many hours on the river so reliability is very important.

So far I just have some jigs made to form the stringers and have them bent and welded. I ordered my sheet goods and they will be in on Monday so the real work will start then.
I've built many of these boats through the years but this will be my first one from scratch. I am building this boat for my uncle.

Looks like I'll have to dig up my photobucket account and upload some photos to use here. I'll put them up asap and I'll add to this as I get things done.

Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 99 (permalink) Old 08-15-2013, 10:59 PM
Frequent Contributor

Re: Building a boat from scratch

Please post pictures of the build. I enjoy other people build stuff I could never dream of building. Good luck with the build.
post #3 of 99 (permalink) Old 08-16-2013, 01:04 AM
Super Moderator

Sound like a great project. Can't wait to see it all unfold.

2D

ONE NATION UNDER GOD...

Pray for our troops, and for our country

God Bless America
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #4 of 99 (permalink) Old 08-19-2013, 02:58 PM Thread Starter
Part of the Community