Aerater/live well.....UPDATE - The HuntingPA.com Outdoor Community
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools
post #1 of 25 (permalink) Old 04-15-2013, 09:44 PM Thread Starter
Senior Member
 
Buckethead's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 1999
Location: Ima Clarkonian!
Posts: 19,940
Back To Top
Aerater/live well.....UPDATE

Okay, my boat has a front and back live well. The pump for both is on the transom below the water line. The recirculator pump is in the rear, next to the rear live well. They are controlled by a rocker switch on the dash. The front live well and aerator work fine. The back doesn't. There is power to the rocker switch because the light comes on when you switch it on but the rear live well and aerator won't work. What the heck is going on? Its the same pump and aerator for bot live wells but only the front works.

I don't have ducks. I don't have rows. I have squirrels. And they're drunk.
Buckethead is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 25 (permalink) Old 04-15-2013, 10:08 PM
The Man
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: bedford co
Posts: 9,643
Back To Top
Re: Aerater/live well

sounds like a broken wire somewhere. If I was close to you, I'd come troubleshoot it for you.

I gotta go agitate the techies!
gentleben is offline  
post #3 of 25 (permalink) Old 04-16-2013, 03:01 PM
Diehard Outdoorsman
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Washington PA
Posts: 4,887
Back To Top
Re: Aerater/live well

Did the boat have a previous owner? Maybe they used the back for storage. Sure does sound like broken/cut wires.

The United States of America has the greatest people on earth.
Deer archer is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #4 of 25 (permalink) Old 04-16-2013, 03:10 PM Thread Starter
Senior Member
 
Buckethead's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 1999
Location: Ima Clarkonian!
Posts: 19,940
Back To Top
Re: Aerater/live well

The previous owner is my dad and it worked up until last year. What has me puzzled is both live wells use the same pump and aerator. The pump and reciculator have a separate switch but both the aerator and pump only work on the front. Neither works on the back.

I don't have ducks. I don't have rows. I have squirrels. And they're drunk.
Buckethead is offline  
post #5 of 25 (permalink) Old 04-16-2013, 03:21 PM
Diehard Outdoorsman
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Washington PA
Posts: 4,887
Back To Top
Re: Aerater/live well

Could you have pinched or clogged the lines to the back?

The United States of America has the greatest people on earth.
Deer archer is offline  
post #6 of 25 (permalink) Old 04-16-2013, 03:42 PM Thread Starter
Senior Member
 
Buckethead's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 1999
Location: Ima Clarkonian!
Posts: 19,940
Back To Top
Re: Aerater/live well

No because the pump and aerator don't turn on when I hit the switches. I have power to the switches because they light up when I turn them on. The pump and aerator just don't come on. I'm assuming the pump and reciculator are wired together even though there is a seperate switch for each because neither is working.

I don't have ducks. I don't have rows. I have squirrels. And they're drunk.
Buckethead is offline  
post #7 of 25 (permalink) Old 04-16-2013, 06:46 PM
Senior Member
 
Dogface's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Sullivan County or SEPA
Posts: 10,162
Back To Top
Re: Aerater/live well

Quote:
Originally Posted by Buckethead
I have power to the switches because they light up when I turn them on.
You may have power to the switch but not through the switch. Jump the switch and see if the pump has power.

There are two ways to be fooled. One is to believe what isn't true; the other is to refuse to believe what is true.
Dogface is online now  
post #8 of 25 (permalink) Old 04-16-2013, 07:04 PM
The Man
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: bedford co
Posts: 9,643
Back To Top
Re: Aerater/live well

make a road trip, bring it out here, and I'll fix it or at least find the problem for ya. Where you located Bucket>?

I gotta go agitate the techies!
gentleben is offline  
post #9 of 25 (permalink) Old 04-16-2013, 07:48 PM Thread Starter
Senior Member
 
Buckethead's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 1999
Location: Ima Clarkonian!
Posts: 19,940
Back To Top
Re: Aerater/live well

Thanks for the offer, Ben but I'm out in Mercer Co on the Ohio line. My uncle is supposed to take a look at it. I can sum up my entire electrical knowledge in this way: If you do it wrong, it hurts. That's about all I know about it.

I don't have ducks. I don't have rows. I have squirrels. And they're drunk.
Buckethead is offline  
post #10 of 25 (permalink) Old 04-16-2013, 09:37 PM
Super Moderator
 
TATERDAVID's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: SAXONBURG PA
Posts: 23,749
Back To Top
Re: Aerater/live well

I wouldn't worry about it. You don't catch enough fish to need two live wells.

2D

ONE NATION UNDER GOD...


Pray for our troops, and for our country

God Bless America
TATERDAVID is online now  
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the The HuntingPA.com Outdoor Community forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.

Email Address:
OR

Log-in










Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page



Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome