IS YOUR CAMP CARBON MONOXIDE READY??? - The HuntingPA.com Outdoor Community

LinkBack Thread Tools
post #1 of 20 (permalink) Old 07-31-2012, 11:29 PM Thread Starter
Hooked on HuntingPa

IS YOUR CAMP CARBON MONOXIDE READY???

OK, the subject of CARBON MONOXIDE came up in another post. CO as it is called is one of the most overlooked dangers one can have in a house, or cabin. It is truely a silent killer. Some say that there has to be high levels of CO before it can harm you. Wrong. Low levels and enough time can be just as bad. Some of what I have here you may have read in the other post but I thought it was important that more of you read it so here ya go...

As stated above you don't have to have high levels of CO to be affected. As a firefighter I often respond to CO alarms. I, for some reason, will start getting a headache almost as soon as I walk in if CO is present; even as low as 12ppm (parts per million). But the same thing happens when the MIL cooks.

The standards we use when we respond to such an alarm are: 9ppm for a home. At this level we have the owners open all the windows to start airing out the home. If we can not determine what the cause of the CO is, we will notify the gas company who can usually pinpoint the problem or atlteast get a lot closer with their equipment. If we see ppm's around 20 & up we start considering evacuation of the home until the problem can be resolved. We see people with headaches at these ppm's after a few hours of exposure all the time.

In commerical settings we use 35ppm as our "worry" number. Commerical settings get a higher ppm rating due to it being based on 8 hours of exposure. Many businesses produce CO from their line of work (ie. mills, weld shops, etc)