Black Bear Hunt Maine 2011 - The HuntingPA.com Outdoor Community

LinkBack Thread Tools
post #1 of 7 (permalink) Old 09-20-2011, 02:23 PM Thread Starter
Banned

Location: Armstrong Co. Pennsyltucky, Camp : Huston Hill, Elk /Cameron County
Black Bear Hunt Maine 2011

I have been hunting Maine's bear season for 3 yrs during the first week of bait season with Katahdin Valley Outfitters. I saw bears the first 2 trips and did not get a shot but this year......I scored!

There were were 7 hunters in camp on days 1 and 2 scored before 6pm. One hunter had his gun break and saw 2 bears at his stand not being able to take a shot.

Day 2 I had 3 bears in all at once and got a nice shot at 25yds with my Lyman 50 cal. flintlock. My father in law shot one on day 4. Awesome trip!

As I have stated here before, Steve Nissley and his family put on a 1st class hunt from the food, lodging, transportation, and area selection it's a great experience from the time you get there through you return home. The area he hunts is 44,000 acres of private land exclusively hunted by his camp for the bait and dog seasons. Stands and blinds are all within 50yds of his baits and easy access from the dirt roads. Each day he takes you into your stand, baits and leaves, retruning after dark to bring ya back in. If you harvest, he and his sons recover the bear, skin and prep it for transport. If you have an interest in hunting with him visit his website at http://www.katahdinvalley-outfitters.com and if you have any questions feel free to contact me also!

A big thanks to Steve, son Andy, daughters Becky and Rachel for an awesome experience!!

Here are a few pics of the hunting site and the bear I harvested. It was a 120lb sow, taken with a 50 cal., Lyman Great Plains flintlock, Lyman peep sights, 245 gr. aerotip powerbelt, 90 2f 777 and 5gr 3f BP.

View from the treet stand

close up of bait barrel

recovery 50 yds from bait

On the pole

Prior to skinning
Sponsored Links
Advertisement