TenPoint ?, Any advice would be great, thanks! - The HuntingPA.com Outdoor Community

LinkBack Thread Tools
post #1 of 7 (permalink) Old 09-15-2010, 07:54 PM Thread Starter
Banned

TenPoint ?, Any advice would be great, thanks!

I have zero experience with crossbows, a buddy of mine gave me his to shoot in for him, so I attempted to do so. Even though that I fully explained to him that I have never held a crossbow before. He bought a TenPoint brand crossbow over to my house, brand new never fired and dropped it off. Are these things junk, or did he pick up a bad one somehow? I believe he paid $700.00 dollars for this thing , I would think that would at least be a middle of the road crossbow correct or? Is there a better crossbow for the money? Or should he just exchange this one for the same cross bow?

The reason being, everything worked great the first few shots at around shot 6-8 I could not load the weapon correctly. I would pull the string back and the only way that I could get it to lock back in place in the position that I could load an arrow, was to pull the string back with two hands, while pushing the safety forward with my thumbs. Otherwise it would jam up/would not let you lock the string back in a position that would let me load the weapon.

As I was saying, everything went/loaded smoothly for the first few shots, then I had to do that every couple of shots then eventually every shot/time I loaded the weapon. I should have stopped there.