Decocking or Release arrow (Bolt) - The HuntingPA.com Outdoor Community

LinkBack Thread Tools
post #1 of 36 (permalink) Old 08-18-2012, 11:42 PM Thread Starter
Diehard Outdoorsman

Decocking or Release arrow (Bolt)

I'm new to the crossbow world as I just picked up my new Horton Havoc. Heck, I don't even have it sighted in (scope) yet....but I was wondering about at the "end of the day" when the time came to release the string. (Well, maybe I'll kill one on the first day and have no worries about that!! )

Now, I have some older aluminum compound bow arrows. These are heavy arrows that I haven't used in years. If I were to cut down one of these arrows and put a blunt tip on the end of it to use as a decocker arrow, would that work? I could "shoot" it into a dirt pile at 20 yards and I would think there would be no adverse effects, except perhaps a bent arrow on the first try. Which would lead me to think I need to shoot it at 30 or 40 yards.

Opinions?

Thanks.

SW
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 36 (permalink) Old 08-19-2012, 12:19 AM

Re: Decocking or Release arrow (Bolt)

I would just get the morrell discharge target or Rinhardt also makes a small target. They are nice and light to throw behind the seat in the truck or car. I have also used them when I want to shoot a few arrows and don't want to get the big target out. They are well made. Then you can just use one of your arrows made for the crossbow to shoot it off. What are your old arrows? One of the main things is to make sure whatever you are shooting has enough weight for your bow. If you shoot lighter than what is recommended then you can do damage to your limbs. The other thing is shooting into a dirtpile or something isn't the best thing in the world. You will likely lose the arrows anyway. Trust me I know from experience. This is when I decided the $20 for the Morrell discharge target was well worth it.

Traditions only last if you pass them down to your kids!