good bolts? - The HuntingPA.com Outdoor Community

LinkBack Thread Tools
post #1 of 7 (permalink) Old 07-22-2012, 02:12 PM Thread Starter
Regular Visitor

good bolts?

Hi all, I recently bought a used Barnett Predator and it had no bolts or quiver with it. I am new to crossbow hunting and was wondering if anyone that has one could recommend bolts that work well with this crossbow. Also is there a difference in half moon and flat knocks? Anyone have an idea where I can get a quiver? Thank you
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 7 (permalink) Old 07-22-2012, 02:56 PM
Diehard Outdoorsman

Re: good bolts?

Ebay.. for the quiver..easton powerbolts and make sure you put strong alumi nocks on the arrows....there's been a few issues with half moons breaking and creating dry fires....
post #3 of 7 (permalink) Old 07-22-2012, 03:44 PM

The Predator is a very high performance bow. In that case the best accuracy is gonna be with very stiff arrows. I would look at the Carbon Express Blue Streaks, Gold Tip Laser III and IVs, Easton FMJ, Aramid KVs. Cheaper, weaker arrows will work but your best accuracy is gonna come from stiff arrows with the proper wieght forward.

As far as nocks. There is a big differecne between flat and moon nocks. It is safe to shoot a moon nock out of any bow, but it is not safe to shoot a flat nock out of a bow that calls for moon nocks.

The Predator is known to be hard on strings. Inspect them thoroughly for fraying or wear beofre you shoot it. As for the quiver, Arrowhead hear can hook you up in a jiffy.

Best of luck with it and let us know your impressions once you get to some shooting.

I support all hunters, regardless of weapon or technique!
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #4 of 7 (permalink) Old 07-22-2012, 07:49 PM
Hooked on HuntingPa

Victory x bolts with 110 gr brass inserts, 100 gr slick tricks, Hard to beat,http://www.victoryarchery.com/carbon...-bolts/x-bolt/

Good luck, Stan
post #5 of 7 (permalink) Old 07-23-2012, 12:08 PM