New to xbows need some help - The HuntingPA.com Outdoor Community

LinkBack Thread Tools
post #1 of 14 (permalink) Old 07-04-2012, 03:50 PM Thread Starter
New Arrival

New to xbows need some help

I am new to xbows and looking at either the Barnett Predator for speed or the Parker
Tomahawk. I have between a 500 to 600 limit. I have been reading some bad things about Barnett reliability and service but liked the speed of the Predator. Parker seems to be more reliable and have better service. Any advise would be appreciated.
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 14 (permalink) Old 07-04-2012, 03:59 PM

Re: New to xbows need some help

My advice is don't get caught up in the speed thing. It is a rare compound that shoots a honest 340fps with hunting weight arrows. And that kind of speed was and still is considered fast.

For $500-600 nothing wrong with the Tomahawk. Good bow with top notch customer service and warranty. Also look at the Wicked Ridge line by TenPoint. Great bows with even better customer support.

I am not sold on Barnett but that is only my opinion.

I support all hunters, regardless of weapon or technique!
post #3 of 14 (permalink) Old 07-04-2012, 04:04 PM
Diehard Outdoorsman

My limit was $500, I bought the tomahawk a few weeks ago, great little bow, plenty fast, and dead on accurate.

Matthew 22:37-40
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #4 of 14 (permalink) Old 07-04-2012, 04:32 PM
Frequent Contributor

I bought a Wicked Ridge Invader. Put the Bow Jax on it and the top mount quiver bracket and you will have a great set up in your price range. I love mine.
I agree not to get caught up in the speed race. Faster is not always better. A good quality bow with the vibration and noise limitted is perfect.
post #5 of 14 (permalink) Old 07-05-2012, 12:04 AM
Diehard Outdoorsman