The HuntingPA.com Outdoor Community banner

Kinetic Energy

2K views 17 replies 6 participants last post by  bobby2bears 
#1 ·
Good comparison with different crossbows regarding kinetic energy. The crossbow I shot was the TenPoint Stealth which has 95.5 foot-pounds of kinetic energy. That is the low range of kinetic energy for the crossbows listed!

Although the only drawback I see for this particular bow is the price, it seems well suited for hunting. Nice and compact, quiet, fast, balanced, out of the box accuracy.

http://www.maximumhunting.com/product-guide/crossbow-comparison/

#5 ·
Double Lung 20 said:
Good question. The lighter the projectile, the quicker the energy will be lost. Also, the more surface area of the projectile, the quicker the energy will be lost due to drag forces.

I'm not sure I agree,but I'm no expert. The way it was once put to me is..if you shoot 2 different weight arrows,say a 350 grain and a 450 gr. out of the same 60 lb bow, both arrows being fletched and tiped the same,the 450 will bleed off energy quicker(hence the faster drop)than the 350. Also put to me , the longer the shaft,(wihtin reason ofcourse) the more room for stored energy. I'm not arguing with you but that makes sense,to me anyway

#6 ·
That's not correct. The heavier arrow doesn't drop more because it loses energy faster. Both arrows will drop at the same rate, but the lighter arrow will impact higher than the heavier arrow because it reaches the target faster. The effect of gravity on an arrow has nothing to do with arrow weight. It has to do with the time between release and impact. Therefore, the arrow that travels slower will have more time to drop.

This also brings up the point of efficiency. There is a sweet spot between an ultra light arrow and a heavy arrow that will best transfer energy down range. A faster arrow does not mean it has more energy.

#8 ·
Double Lung 20 said: