Nock vs. String Failures - The HuntingPA.com Outdoor Community
 1Likes

LinkBack Thread Tools
post #1 of 18 (permalink) Old 10-15-2017, 10:32 AM Thread Starter
Diehard Outdoorsman

Nock vs. String Failures

I'm pretty new to hunting with a crossbow, this being only my third season. The hunting part has been no problem, after 16 years of hunting with a vertical bow, adapting to the crossbow went well. Learning the nuances of the equipment is another thing.

So... the other day I had a string fail while shooting at a nice doe. Completely blew up my string and cable set and splintered a limb. Thankfully the event didn't lead to a poorly hit deer. I found the bolt a couple yards short of the deer with no sign of a hit, but with a missing nock. i'm shooting a Mission MXB-360. The specs are: 160# draw weight, 14 inch power stroke and it shoots a 400 grain arrow at 352 fps.

The bow is just over two years old, but only got hunted with one full season in 2015, as last year I had a non-hunting related fall injury and missed almost the whole season. So basically, the bow has seen one full hunting season plus a few hunts between last year and so far this year. The string showed some light fuzziness in the serving at the nocking point, but not to the point that I thought it needed replaced. I was using 22" Victory Decimator bolts with half moon plastic nocks. After the string failure, I was quick to beat myself up for not changing the string sooner. But the fact that the nock was missing bothered me, and the more I thought about it, I'm thinking that the nock failed and the string blew right through it and the wall of the shaft cut the string. My daughter's boyfriend told me that his crossbow shoots at about 350 fps and that he's broken three plastic nocks just target practicing in the back yard.