First Buck - The HuntingPA.com Outdoor Community

LinkBack Thread Tools
post #1 of 17 (permalink) Old 11-20-2015, 11:59 PM Thread Starter
Hooked on HuntingPa

First Buck

After a long time coming, I finally shot my first buck on the evening of 10/10/15. I have been doing some form of hunting for the last 19 years. I will admit that when I was younger baseball took up most of my time until after college, so I have just in the last few years devoted much time to hunting. I have taken doe with my rifle, compound, and crossbow, but taking a buck always seemed to elude me. In my area of central Pa, I do not see many legal bucks once the season seems to roll around for whatever reason. Last year I had my first archery shot at a buck, and I missed a buck with my compound when the lower cam hit my leg, when I took a shot sitting down. So this year, I decided, I was going to take my crossbow at the beginning of the season.

The 6 pt. buck I took showed up around 5:10 on that Saturday evening. I had been getting pics of him for the past week in the late afternoon and early evening near my stand. I planted Whitetail Pure Attraction in August that, I believe he had found earlier in the week. He came in from behind me and was walking through some tree tops that were from the timbering that had been done earlier in the summer. I didn’t immediately stand up, because I was thinking maybe he would end up coming to my right and I could get a shot sitting down, but he ended up turning and going behind me. As he was making his way behind me, I said a quick prayer asking to help me make a good shot, if the opportunity came.