Deer Detection (a bit long but worth the read) - The HuntingPA.com Outdoor Community

LinkBack Thread Tools
post #1 of 25 (permalink) Old 06-18-2011, 06:17 PM Thread Starter
Wiz

Deer Detection (a bit long but worth the read)

Over the past few years, I have read countless postings from hunters on this forum stating that "there are few deer in the area that they hunt because they don't see any or as many as they used to". This "data" is usually followed by or is preceded by something along the lines of "the PGC has wiped out the deer herd". The first thing that that comes to my mind is that maybe these hunters are actually poor hunters and just think they are better at seeing deer than they really are.

Some of you know that I am an aquatic biologist for an agency in the state I currently reside and my interest in HuntingPA is because I grew up, lived, and hunted in PA for 24 years and have continued to hunt small game, bear, and deer in PA since I moved away 10 years ago.

During the past 7 years, I have been involved in several projects to assess the rarity of freshwater mussels in rivers in the Southeastern US. One of the techniques that we have been using is estimating detection probability of mussels in these rivers. Detection probability is defined as the probability of detecting (catching, seeing, hearing, etc.) a species or individual(s) given that it/they are actually present at a location.

Current studies that we have been doing with mussels have indicated that we only collect between 20-40% of the individuals present at a site on any given sampling occasion. This does vary by a number of conditions such as habitat, weather patterns, etc. However, mussels are relative immobile and typically don't move much more than a couple feet per year based on our observations. However, despite being immobile, we still only collect a small fraction of the individuals present even though we know they are there and even though we use a standardized method each year.