Electrician Question? - The HuntingPA.com Outdoor Community
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools
post #1 of 20 (permalink) Old 05-20-2013, 07:51 PM Thread Starter
The Man
 
MQ-1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2001
Location: Pike
Posts: 7,680
Back To Top
Electrician Question?

I want to run service to a new detached garage. My house has a 200 amp panel and I want to put in a 60 amp sub panel in the garage. If I put a 60 amp breaker in the house panel and run wire to the new 60 amp sub panel I was told to use 6/3 UF direct bury. It is about a 150' run between the 2. I was also told I could run stranded in conduit buried 18" deep in the following configuration... (2) #6 wires as hots, (1) #8 wire for a neutral and (1) #10 as ground. I asked the township and they will not tell me much about the wiring itself...told me to look it up! Nice? Any help would be appreciated and be gentle..LOL

USAF 1984-88

Families that hunt together stay together!
MQ-1 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 20 (permalink) Old 05-20-2013, 08:20 PM
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Carbon County Pa/Kidder Township
Posts: 19,236
Back To Top
Re: Electrician Question?

Zoning office will not tell you for fear of liability. That is why they often want stamped prints to keep anything bad form bouncing back on them.
Direct burial cable is easier but I would use pipe if it was my home. That is a lot of power to bury where someone could hit with a shovel or rake. Run PVC and be done, plus leave a couple pull strings that way you can pull another circuit if you need later.

My ability to remember lyrics from songs of the 60's far exceed my ability to remember why I walked into the kitchen
Birch812 is offline  
post #3 of 20 (permalink) Old 05-20-2013, 08:25 PM
Regular Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Lebanon, PA
Posts: 1,491
Back To Top
Re: Electrician Question?

I would use at least #6 for both hots and the neutral and a #10 ground would work. Depending on what you plan on using in the garage you may want to up the size to #4's and # 8 ground to take care of any voltage drop issues. It may cost a little more upfront for the bigger wires but you have a little wiggle room. I hope that helps.
sparkchaser is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #4 of 20 (permalink) Old 05-20-2013, 08:27 PM
Regular Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Lebanon, PA
Posts: 1,491
Back To Top
Re: Electrician Question?

You may want to think about water out there while your digging your ditch. Even if it was a line you could blow out in the winter. Maybe a 1" plastic pipe and pull pex tubing through it.
sparkchaser is offline  
post #5 of 20 (permalink) Old 05-20-2013, 08:32 PM Thread Starter
The Man
 
MQ-1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2001
Location: Pike
Posts: 7,680
Back To Top
Re: Electrician Question?

Not really going to use the garage for much in the way of work...occasional drill or air compressor and lights is about all. So I should go 6-6-6-10? Also will I need a grounding rod since the garage is not attached? Thanks

USAF 1984-88

Families that hunt together stay together!
MQ-1 is offline  
post #6 of 20 (permalink) Old 05-20-2013, 09:59 PM
Regular Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Lebanon, PA
Posts: 1,491
Back To Top
Re: Electrician Question?

You will not need a ground rod. The 6,6,6,10 will be fine.
sparkchaser is offline  
post #7 of 20 (permalink) Old 05-20-2013, 10:46 PM Thread Starter
The Man
 
MQ-1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2001
Location: Pike
Posts: 7,680
Back To Top
Re: Electrician Question?

Thanks

USAF 1984-88

Families that hunt together stay together!
MQ-1 is offline  
post #8 of 20 (permalink) Old 05-21-2013, 12:37 AM
Diehard Outdoorsman
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Washington PA
Posts: 4,887
Back To Top
Re: Electrician Question?

Not an electrician. Bury water line in a separate ditch.

The United States of America has the greatest people on earth.
Deer archer is offline  
post #9 of 20 (permalink) Old 05-21-2013, 12:57 AM
Diehard Outdoorsman
 
buckinnuts's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: Strinestown pa
Posts: 3,680
Back To Top
Re: Electrician Question?

I ran a 60a sub to mine detached garage..all 6...but i did do another ground rod just a few dollars mor but feel better with it in

Come and try to take my guns!.you might meet my precious metal collection!
buckinnuts is offline  
post #10 of 20 (permalink) Old 05-21-2013, 01:25 AM
The Man
 
Buckshot1822's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Clearfield County (2G)
Posts: 5,810
Back To Top
Re: Electrician Question?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Deer archer
Not an electrician. Bury water line in a separate ditch.
Not Necessary, as long as the water line is in conduit or a casing.........I would just make sure there is a foot or two between them.......we do it all of the time in the construction world

"Most people miss opportunity because it comes dressed in overalls, and looks like hard work"
Buckshot1822 is offline  
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the The HuntingPA.com Outdoor Community forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.

Email Address:
OR

Log-in










Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page



Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome