Any business management majors out there? - The HuntingPA.com Outdoor Community

LinkBack Thread Tools
post #1 of 8 (permalink) Old 08-17-2012, 12:14 PM Thread Starter
The Man

Any business management majors out there?

I am starting in the fall going back to school for my business management degree. I just got my books for the 3 classes i am taking online this year. I was wondering what advice any of you guys have for this career path and schooling. Also things you hate and love about your management position. I am a mechanical designer now and my company is paying for me to go back and told me the only thing holding me from a upper level supervisor position is the degree. I am taking micro economics this fall and it looks pretty interesting.

I know it sounds crazy having a full time job, my own business, going for a bachelors degree, and a newborn baby but i know this is all for the best a few years down the road. I think you only need 3 hours of sleep to survive. LOL

Proud member of Gobblers Anonymous Support Group [img]<<GRAEMLIN_URL>>/wink.gif[/img]
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 8 (permalink) Old 08-17-2012, 01:18 PM
dce
Sage

Re: Any business management majors out there?

Mike I have a bachelors degree in business management from PSU.To be honest,I woudn't recommend anyone wasting their time and money.It's basically applied commonsense.I own an insurance agency and I do aplly certain things that I learned in college but that all could have been learned with experience or with a 6 week crash course.From what I experienced,unless you really spwcialize in something else at the same time,you'll get a retail or sales position.

In your case,you're not the one dishing out the money so it will most likely be a good experience.There are some interesting classes.I took alot of sociology and psych classes that were pretty cool.
post #3 of 8 (permalink) Old 08-17-2012, 01:27 PM
Diehard Outdoorsman