SUGGESTIONS ON 12GA. SLUG GUN. - The HuntingPA.com Outdoor Community

LinkBack Thread Tools
post #1 of 8 (permalink) Old 01-08-2014, 09:26 PM Thread Starter
Hooked on HuntingPa

SUGGESTIONS ON 12GA. SLUG GUN.

IM LOOKING FOR INPUT, SUGGESTIONS OR OTHERWISE ANY KNOWLEDGE AVAILABLE FROM YOU GUYS. IM GONNA PURCHASE A SHOT GUN FOR DEER. SLUG ONLY. HERE ARE MY QUESTIONS.....

>1) BOLT VS. PUMP AND WHY

.2) MAKE AND WHY

.3) ANY SUGGESTIONS ON SCOPES

ALL INFO WILL BE USED AND APPRECIATED.

There is no hunting like the hunting of wanted or armed men!
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 8 (permalink) Old 01-08-2014, 09:54 PM
Frequent Contributor

Re: SUGGESTIONS ON 12GA. SLUG GUN.

Where I hunt in MD, a shotgun is the main firearm during gun season. So, I have some experience with this topic.

Can't beat the H&R single shot, be it in 12 or 20 ga. Many guys prefer the 20 ga. b/c the weight.

I am using a Rem 1100 12 ga. with a Hastings barrel -- awesome performance.

Finally, if you can afford it, purchase an Ithaca Deerslayer.
post #3 of 8 (permalink) Old 01-08-2014, 10:01 PM Thread Starter
Hooked on HuntingPa

THANK YOU VERY MUCH.

There is no hunting like the hunting of wanted or armed men!
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #4 of 8 (permalink) Old 01-09-2014, 12:14 AM
Sage

Delaware is a shotgun only state for firearms and I use 870 pump with a smooth slug barrel, does a good job...H&R is the deal 20 ga with a scope about $275. will get out past 100 yards......single shot, rifled barrel..
post #5 of 8 (permalink) Old 01-09-2014, 01:08 AM
Frequent Contributor

Just checked on my scopes: the H&R has a Nikon buck masters in 3x9.
The Rem 1100 has acTruGlow in 3x9.
Both work great and have handled the recoil quite well.
post #6 of 8 (permalink) Old 01-09-2014, 01:18 AM
Frequent Contributor